ETSU wins The Greenbrier Collegiate Invitational

East Tennessee State University defended its crown at The Greenbrier Collegiate Invitational, and it did it in convincing fashion. The Buccaneers finished the two-day, 54-hole tournament at 6-over-par, 25 shots better than Eastern Kentucky, which finished second at 21-over. Western Kentucky (+26), Ohio (+29) and Marshall (+30) rounded out the top 5 in the 17-team event.

Nick Rencis of Old Dominion, one of just two players to finish the tournament -- contested on the Old White TPC, the home of the PGA TOUR’s The Greenbrier Classic -- under par, won the individual title. He carded a 5-under 65 Tuesday to finish at 3-under for the tournament, after back-to-back 71s on Monday. Adrian Meronk of ETSU was second at 1-under of the event, while Gudmund Kristjansson (ETSU) and Brandon Pluchinsky (Youngstown State) tied for third at even-par. Peyton White (Ohio) and Stuart Easton (Western Kentucky) finished 1-over to tie for fifth.

The 7,287-yard par-70 Old White TPC was the big winner over the last two days, yielding just 18 under-par rounds among the nearly 280 rounds played by the collegiate golfers.
The tournament, in its third year, was hosted by Bowling Green State University and Marshall University.

East Tennessee State  846 +6
Eastern Kentucky   861   +21
Western Kentucky  866 +26
Ohio University  869 +29
Marshall University  870 +30
Morehead State  871 +31
Youngstown State  872  +32
Towson University 878  +38
Bowling Green  880 +40
Middle Tennessee St.  881  +41
Old Dominion 881 +41
Northern Kentucky  882  +42
Delaware     882 +42
William & Mary  885 +45
Western Carolina     877  +49
Siena College            895   +55
St. Bonaventure  904  +64  
Nick Rencis  Old Dominion 207
Adrian Meronk     ETSU 209
Gudmund Kristjansson     ETSU 210
Brandon Pluchinsky  Youngstown St. 210
Peyton White   Ohio 211
Stuart Easton     Western Kentucky 211
Brett Rinker   Bowling Green 213
Mike Engelman  Ohio 213
Kim Geuntae   ETSU  214
Jared Brown Eastern Kentucky 214
Will Evans  Marshall 214
James Beckner Middle Tenn.  214
Logan Hogge  Morehead State  214
Seth Sweet  Old Dominion 214